27 January: It is difficult to be anywhere else on this day


Over 200 Auschwitz and Holocaust Survivors will come to the Auschwitz Memorial on January 27, 2020, to commemorate the 75th anniversary of the liberation of the German Nazi concentration and extermination camp. Their stories will be heard by the entire world. Leaders and representatives of dozens of the countries will be present inside the special tent built over the Gate of Death of the former Birkenau camp.


"The Museum sent letters informing about the planned anniversary in April 2019. They were sent to embassies of the countries of European Union as well as countries-donors of the Auschwitz-Birkenau Foundation that support the preservation of the authenticity of the Memorial. Each country makes a decision about their own delegation to the commemoration event," said Bartosz Bartyzel, spokesman of the Memorial.


Albania – Ambassador Shpresa Kureta
Australia – President of the Senate Scott Ryan
Austria – President Alexander Van der Bellen
Azerbaijan – Chairman of Milli Mejlis Asadov Ogtay
Belarus – Deputy Chairman of Council of the Republic Anatoli Isachanka
Belgium – His Majesty King Philippe of the Belgians and Her Majesty Queen Mathilde, Prime Minister Sophie Wilmès
Canada – Governor General Julie Payette
Croatia – Prime Minister Andrej Plenković
Cyprus – President of the House of Representatives Demetrios Syllouris
Czechia – Prime Minister Andrej Babiš
Denmark – Ministry of Foreign Affairs Jeppe Kofod
Estonia – Minister of Population Riina Solman
Finnland – President Sauli Niinistö
France – Prime Minister Édouard Philippe
Georgia – Ambassador Ilia Darchiashvili
Germany – President Frank-Walter Steinmeier
Greece – Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis
Hungary – Prime Minister Viktor Orbán
Ireland – President Michael D. Higgins
Israel – President Reuven Rivlin
Kazakhstan – Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Margulan Baimukhan
Latvia – President Egils Levits
Lichtenstein – Prime Minister Adrian Hasler
Lithuania – Speaker of the Seimas Viktoras Pranckietis
Luxembourg – HRH Grand Duke Henri, Prime Minister Xavier Bettel
Malta – President George William Vella
Moldova – Prime Minister Ion Chicu
Monako – Minister Spraw Zagranicznych Laurent Anselmi
The Netherlands - His Majesty King Willem-Alexander and Her Majesty Queen Máxima, Prime Minister Mark Rutte
New Zealand – Ambassador Mary Thurston
Norway – HRH Crown Prince Haakon and Prime Minister Erna Solberg
Poland – President Andrzej Duda
Portugal – Minister of Foreign Affairs Augusto Santos Silva
Romania – Prime Minister Ludovic Orban
Russia – Ambassador Sergey Andreev
Serbia – Prime Minister Ana Brnabić
Slovakia – President Zuzana Čaputová
Slovenia – President Borut Pahor
Spain – HM Philip VI of Spain, HM Queen Letizia
Sweden – HRH Crown Princess Victoria, Prime Minister Stefan Löfven, Speaker of the Parliament Andreas Norlén
Switzerland – President Simonetta Sommaruga
Turkey – Ambassador Tunç Üğdül
Ukraine – President Volodymyr Zelensky
Vatican – special representative of the Holy See Cardinal Zenon Grocholewski
The United Kingdom – HRH The Duchess of Cornwall
The United States – Secretary of Treasury Steven T. Mnuchin


Council of Europe – Deputy Secretary General Gabriella Battaini-Dragoni
European Council – President Charles Michel
United Nations – Secretary-General's Special Adviser for the Prevention of Genocide Adama Dieng
UNESCO – Director-Generaal Audrey Azoulay

'This anniversary, this memory, this symbol of the liberation of Auschwitz, shows one of the essential foundations of the post-war life in Europe and the world. That is why I am not surprised that so many decision-makers understand perfectly well that it is difficult to be anywhere else on this particular day. It is clear that on the 75th anniversary, we all want to stand together with Auschwitz Survivors live among us,' said Piotr M. A. Cywiński, director of the Museum.

Auschwitz Survivors will be the most important guests of the event commemorating the 75th anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz. We expect that on January 27, 2020, about 200 of them will come to the Memorial from all over the world. A delegation of approximately 120 Auschwitz and Holocaust Survivors from the United States, Canada, Israel, Australia, and several European countries will be able to take part in the main commemoration of the 75th Anniversary of the Liberation of Auschwitz thanks to the support of the Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial Foundation from New York City under the Leadership of Ronald S. Lauder. More and more former prisoners from Poland are now confirming their presence.

On January 27, the witnesses of history are going to sit in the tent installed over the historical gate of former Auschwitz II-Birkenau camp. Official delegations from several dozen countries from all over the world are going to listen to their words, together with the representatives of international institutions, social organizations, clergymen, the staff of museums and memorial sites devoted to this topic. It will be possible to watch the event live all over the world thanks to TV and online broadcast.

The President of the Republic of Poland, Andrzej Duda, has assumed honorary patronage over the 75th anniversary of the liberation of the German Nazi concentration and extermination camp Auschwitz. Further information on this event will be published on the website: